Fears and Practice

So I’ve recently started up a novel on Wattpad as a writing exercise. It’s going to be a long writing exercise, but that’s what I’m viewing it as. To be completely honest I’m nervous because I’m throwing out unedited chapters of raw writing coming out the minute I’m finished. It’s challenging for me to want to release these things live because, as an editor, I’m petrified of being judged for my errors. It’s also in a genre that I’m somewhat new to writing: Cyberpunk thrillers.

So why am I writing about this on here? Well, partially because I’d love for you to share feedback on what I’ve written, but more because I’ve noticed that many writers are afraid of this kind of exposure. We guard our writing with more jealousy than Smaug guarding the Arkenstone.

Image (c) Warner Brothers, Smaug

It’s not that this is wrong, I’m not suggesting that we shouldn’t share the most polished and focused work possible, but at the same time if we are too afraid to ask for feedback and share our writing then we aren’t really benefiting ourselves.

Now, I don’t think what I’m doing on Wattpad is for everyone. If you are sharing your unedited works with the world you are bound to have critique, and even harsh critique. It’s not going to be easy and with something like Wattpad there’s always the fear someone could steal it. That and the fact that you’re giving it away for free so probably won’t be able to publish it. There are a lot of things to consider in regards to that, so don’t mistake me as saying you should work on your Magnum Opus in public. You shouldn’t. But what I am saying is that we should be a little less afraid to show our work to others.

It’s snowing like crazy here, so I’m going to retreat to my couch with a mug of tea, but I thought I’d stop by and let you know about my new project and my thoughts on the matter.

Cheers, friends!

One thought on “Fears and Practice

Leave a Reply

