Holy Busy Summer, Batman!

I haven’t been on here as much as I wish I was, but things have been moving along at a quick clip since we opened the doors on Insomnia Publishing, a new adventure that I and some friends are setting out on.

Between Insomnia Publishing and my recent involvement with medieval reenactment I’ve been having a struggle trying to find time for everything I want to do, but I’m enjoying every minute of this crazy roller coaster ride that my newlywed life has become.

Writing wise I’ve been extremely busy. I’ve gotten past the 70,000 word mark on my high fantasy novel currently titled Gealltanas (it means “binding promise” in Gaelic; I’m not sure if that’ll stick), and I’m working with my husband on an urban fantasy series. I also have a book about writing in the wings somewhere waiting to be written, but I’ve had so much happening that I haven’t had time to really think about that one.

I’ve really been enjoying working on our urban fantasy series. The world building has been exhausting but enjoyable. Examining the mythology for the creatures we are using has been interesting research, and it’s been fun. World building is an art that is so often overlooked by authors and readers. That kind of development takes a great deal of time and effort, and if you’re going to do it you should do it right.

I’ve also been finding inspiration in the strangest places these days, and have been spending most of my vacation staring off into the distance thinking about characters and worlds that haven’t even been written yet. The bad part of that is that I’m fantasizing about books I haven’t written yet that are based off books I’m still starting to write. Ugh! The good news is that I can outline them and get the ideas preserved and out of my brain, the bad news is that it’s breeding a heinous form of ADD that wants me to write everything at once.

Leave a Reply

