Where to start?

Well, I suppose I’ll start with the beginning. I’m sure you can gather that my name is Beth. Or Elizabeth. So long as you don’t call me Liz, we’ll get along fine. Introductions, introductions. These things are always so hard. I’m 25 and graduated college about two years ago with my degree in history, a minor in English literature. I do a lot of different things, most of which I won’t bore you with. But the biggest and most important parts of my life are my martial arts, my fiancé, and my writing.

Being an editor, I’m sure the writing part is obvious. I also write stories and such of my own in addition to helping writers perfect their craft. I tend to write more the modern fantasy style of story, or murder-mystery detective stories. I also dabble with high fantasy but that’s an entirely other kettle of fish. I also do poetry and write lyrics (I play guitar and write music), though prose is by far my favored realm.

On the non-writing level of things one of my favorite activities is martial arts. I do a sword-style martial art that I have been training at for three years. It’s a fantastic influence on my life and it is absolutely an intense experience. Every week it gives me the chance to just forget everything and just be. It’s something that I think everyone needs and with a life as busy as mine it’s absolutely required. In my life, I’ve been in and out of martial arts since I was about four years old, and I can’t picture a world where I don’t have any attachment to it.

I’m sure I’ll think of more later, most likely, but for now this is probably good enough!

Leave a Reply

